craving change.

166-4

I have sort of a strange way about me when it comes to change.

There are some things that I like to remain the same, all the time.  I love it when relationships last. I started dating my now husband when I was (almost) fifteen.  Two of my best friends right now were also my best friends when I was 6 years old, and I invest a lot in relationships that I know will last.  I cannot stand it when my hubs shaves his beard. I do not want my boys to grow up. I’d rather they just stay little.  I have liked the color blue for as long as I can remember, and I still have the bear I got for my first birthday because I would be devastated if it was no longer. We moved back to our hometown because I completely hated the change living in a different town involved. I love our quiet, simple every day.

But then sometimes, I find myself itching for change, trying to find a way to do something. anything. different.  The common and mundane become too much, or too little. It makes my mind race and sleep dwindle until I can find a way to make it happen somewhere in my life.  I usually dye my hair (or chop it off), find a DIY project around the house, or reorganize a closet. And I love it. I relish the difference and the newness.

Apparently this was the week…it was bound to happen.  It has been a few months since I cut several inches off my hair.

We took the doors off one set of our kitchen cabinets.167-2

It was freeing for me. I love being able to see all my dishes, and it seems so much more open and inviting. That may seem silly, but it makes me just want to sit down with a friend and a pot of French press.

266-3

We love our kitchen. It’s open and airy because of the high ceilings and huge windows, even if it is technically a “galley” kitchen. All the cabinets are original, and therefore wonderfully quirky.  People flock to that part of the house when they are here, and we spend most of our time in there,too…around the table talking, playing, drinking coffee. Baking press cookies, trying my best to learn to cook some delicious meals for our little family. One of my goals this year is to have an open door to all our friends and family. I want people to just be able to stop by. Right along with that, I want to nourish the relationships in my life- my husband, my boys, my family, my friends. So we are working to make our home a more inviting place. And in our home, it starts in the kitchen.

209-3

 

Leave a comment